Mamagirl… says it all…

Just a Mama's musings…

Oh yeah, Happy 4th of July! July 4, 2012

Filed under: Birthdays,July 4th,Summer — mamagirlsaysitall @ 11:38 am

MamaGirl says,

My children’s birthdays just happen to fall on September 11 and July 5. So, on days when many Americans are either reflecting on loss and tragedy and patriotism or partying and celebrating independence, I am usually running around like the proverbial chicken with its head cut off trying to finalize last-minute birthday party details.

Oh sure, we’ll go watch some fireworks tonight and for the first time, Mags understands that the fireworks are not specifically for her birthday. She always just assumed that they were for her, being too young to understand much about history or independence, and we didn’t see any reason to tell her that they weren’t for her. I mean, who doesn’t want full-on, professional fireworks for their birthday??

But before we can get to the fireworks tonight, I’ve got a list as long as my arm of things to get done before tomorrow comes and only 13 hours left to do it in. Because I tend to do most things at the last-minute (hey! I work better that way!), instead of going to barbecue’s or on a fun, family outing, I’m spending the day at party supply stores, toy stores, and the grocery store. Yes, I should know better by now, and you would think that in 35 years I might have learned something by now. And the truth is, I try to do things ahead of time, I really do! But somehow, every time, it sneaks up on me and suddenly I’m all “Oh shit! I have to have this done by tomorrow!” I’m the same way with things for school. I put it off and put it off and then FREAK OUT because I only have 2 days left to do it in. But somehow, crunch time is what usually makes my brain kick into gear (except for when it doesn’t and that really sucks, but we’ll save that for another time) and I pull it all together as if The Queen of Everything has loaned me her magic wand. (I was going to link to a post that explained the magic wand reference, but then I realized that I never finished that post, so maybe I’ll work on that later, for now, you’ll just have to wonder)

So I gotta get crackin’ before the fireworks go pop! Y’all have fun out there, and be safe! And oh yeah, Happy 4th of July!

 

Leave a Reply

