Mamagirl… says it all…

Just a Mama's musings…

Lilies and Hula Hoops July 10, 2012

Filed under: Family,Summer — mamagirlsaysitall @ 10:57 pm
Tags: ,

MamaGirl says…

My lily bloomed today!  Hubbo and the kids gave it to me for Mother’s Day about five years ago and every year, I can’t wait to see it bloom again. It’s a Stargazer Lily and it smells amazing! The bloom is bigger than my hand and so bright pink that it’s almost red. It’s gorgeous and I love to sit on the porch and inhale it’s heady perfume.

This year it doesn’t look like it’s going to have as many blooms as it had last year. There’s only two more buds on it, and one of them looks like it might bloom tomorrow. Last year it seems like we got eight or ten blooms. Maybe it has something to do with the mild winter? I have no idea. But since it will clearly be a short-lived bloom this year, I’ll have to spend a lot of time on the porch for the next few days, so I can enjoy it. Luckily, I have a laptop. (I know that all four of my readers must have gotten terrified at the thought that I might not be able to blog! [I crack myself up])

Tonight, we took the kids to the Asheville Hoop Jam. My mother said, “What the heck is a Hoop Jam?” It’s an awesome gathering every Tuesday night during the summer at a downtown park to enjoy music and hula hooping. I had never been before, but since I bought Mags a hula hoop for her birthday (and one for myself because she had to have someone to hoop with, right?), I thought this would be a fun experience for us. A-Man could have just stayed home as far as he was concerned, but Mags and I hooped until we were dehydrated and had a great time, and Hubbo was quite content watching all the hot girls hoop-dancing.

Some of these women were amazing! I can barely make the damn thing go around my waist, and I look like a drunk wobbling around while doing it. But there were girls making hoops twirl around their shoulders, tossing them up and catching them, and twirling them out to the ends of their arms. I hid in the back and tried not to be noticed much.

Now we’re exhausted and we should sleep well tonight. Tomorrow, I’m going to sit on my porch and look at my lily. Next Tuesday, I’m going back to the Hoop Jam to do it again, and in the mean time, I’m going to put the speakers in the window, crank up something with a good rhythm and try to figure out how to hula hoop without looking like a drunk. I’m sure the neighbors will love it.

Maybe on Friday night we’ll go to the drum circle, held in the same park, and get back to our hippie roots a little bit. It’s good, clean family fun that allows our children to experience music and diversity, two of the things that make this town so amazing. I’m glad that we live here.

Lilies and hula hoops… that was a good day.

 

Leave a Reply

