Mamagirl… says it all…

Just a Mama's musings…

My mother is a badass, the Olympics are awesome, and I have purple hair. July 30, 2012

Filed under: Family,Olympics,Summer — mamagirlsaysitall @ 1:54 pm
Tags: , , , ,

MamaGirl says…

Whew! A lot has happened in the past few days! I’ve been super-busy keeping up with the Olympics. I’m taking the morning of from Olympic coverage because I watched something like 15 hours of it yesterday and very little got done around my house. Of course, not much has gotten done around my house today either, but I have gotten somewhat caught up on some blog reading (although not all of it). So, let’s do some quick catching up, shall we?

First things first: My mother is a badass!

Some of you know my mom, and I think you will agree that she is a lot of things. She is creative, she

Not their actual trip, but on the same river.

is a gourmet cook, she is an accomplished web-designer, she is gracious, she is polite, she is considerate, she is the quintessential modern-Southern-lady. However, badass is not a word that I have used to describe my mother, until now. Here’s why: My mom is 57 years old (sorry Mom, it’s important to the story) and over the weekend, she celebrated her 24th wedding anniversary by going white-water rafting. Now, let’s back up a second. While she is certainly all of those things mentioned above, another word that has never been used to describe my mother is adventurous. Her idea of adventure is eating at a new restaurant. That’s not to say that she’s boring or that she’s never had an adventure. Actually, her biggest adventure to date was traveling all over Ireland with my step-dad for their 20th anniversary. So, let’s not get the wrong picture. It’s not that she isn’t adventurous at all, she just has a different idea of adventure. Her idea of camping is a 3-star hotel, instead of a 5-star one, and for the life of her, she can’t figure out why we like to sleep in tents so much. Anyway, back to the story. So, yesterday, she gathered up 57 years of being scared of things that have the potential to hurt you (something that I inherited from her, but luckily mine came with a bit of adventurous spunk that will sometimes outweigh the fear… sometimes) and she strapped herself into a life-jacket and a crash helmet, and took to the river. Now, that’s pretty badass for a sweet-tempered southern-gentle-lady, but here’s where the story takes a turn for the awesome. If you’ve ever been rafting before, you know that you have to tuck your feet in to keep yourself in the boat, after all staying in the boat always beats swimming and/or drowning. So, like she’d been instructed, she tucked her feet. I can only imagine that with the fear of falling out of the boat permeating through her, those feet might as well have been welded into the boat. She’s pretty good at following instructions, and knowing her sense of self-preservation and fear, I know that she had them locked in with the thought that those feet might be only thing keeping her from drowning until she managed to get back off of that boat. And that’s what got her leg broken. Yep. I know her. I know that once they told her to keep those feet tucked in, in order to stay in the boat, she took it very seriously. Maybe they should have told her to relax a bit too, but that’s neither here nor there. So, when they hit a big rapid, and she felt herself being lifted off of the seat, those feet stayed stuck. Unfortunately, her leg didn’t.

This is the phone call that I received yesterday afternoon:

“We just got off the river!”

“Oh yeah? How was it?”

“It was fun! It was a little scary, but we had a really good time!”

“That’s great, Mom! I’m glad you enjoyed it!”

“Yep, me too. Now we’re on our way to urgent care to see if my ankle’s broken.”

“WHAT?!?”

“Yeah, it was so embarrassing. They had to come rescue me. I hope it’s just a bad sprain and not broken, but I’m really glad that I did it!”

Well, I’ll be damned, y’all. Turns out she broke her fibula. Not only did she face her fears and DO it, she broke a bone doing it (her first broken bone in 57 years) and you could still hear the smile on her face over the phone. She was proud of herself! And I was proud of her too. I don’t know that I would have still been happy about the whole thing after breaking a bone. And who knew that Mom was such a badass that she could break a bone, ride a couple of hours back home to see a doctor, and still have a smile big enough that you could hear it over the phone? Go ahead, Mom.  And when the doctor told her that No, she wasn’t too old to be white-water rafting, she replied, “Well good. I’ll come back and see you again after I go snow skiing.” What a badass.

Sidenote: What makes this even more badass is that I will not go rafting. I have had a friend die in the river and I refuse to do things that I have known someone personally who died doing it. I also do not ride motorcycle’s anymore, for the same reason. So, my Mom did something that I am scared to do. Man, she’s a badass! Drop by her blog, Never Enough Thyme, and wish her “get well soon!” (Oh, but don’t cuss, it’s a family friendly blog).  =)

Second: The Olympics!

Wow! What an emotional ride we’ve had already! Currently: I started off hating Ryan Lochte. How DARE he beat Michael Phelps! Not the American Hero! NO! And then, that turned to worry. Has Phelps given up? Does he even want to be there? Then, we got to the relay last night. And Lochte practically threw away the lead that the team had built up for him. I know that isn’t exactly fair, that  Frenchman simply out-swam him, but Lochte was in the villain role for me right then. However, once I saw how it obviously effected him, how devastated he was, that they were in the lead until he got in the water, then there was a little redemption for him. Maybe he needed a little reminder that he wasn’t the best on the team? Maybe I’m still being unfair. I’m a Phelps fan.

World Champion

Devastation brings us the Women’s Gymnastics qualifiers. And Jordyn Weiber. Bless her heart. She worked so hard all night, and she deserved to make it to the all-around finals, but instead she’s being cheated out of it by a stupid rule! And Bela Karolyi is PISSED! Did you see that interview? He was so mad he could barely speak English! Get ’em, Karolyi!  Of course, I’m happy for Gabby Douglas and Aly Raisman, but Weiber should be in that competition too! She’s the World Champion for Heaven’s sake! I cried with her last night. I’m not sure that 16 year old’s should be put through that kind of pressure and disappointment.

And last, but not least:

I have purple hair. I’ve wanted it for some time, and played around with a few purple streaks, but

Not me, but the right color.

this time I went all-over purple, and I LOVE it! Hey man, when you’re 35 years old, and trying to blend in on a college campus, purple hair is just the thing! Gotta keep ’em guessing! They don’t know if I’m an old-lady with purple hair, or a college kid who looks really tired all the time! LOL!

And now, I have to get some laundry done before it comes alive and starts looking for dinner! You guys keep up with Olympics, because you know I’ll be talking about it! See you soon!

 

6 Responses to “My mother is a badass, the Olympics are awesome, and I have purple hair.”

  1. beckygermain Says:

    Yay! I finally got over here! I don’t know how you are doing all the things you say you are doing in your blog. You are super woman. Your mom sounds awesome. Tell her to get on with her bad self!

    Okay, I don’t have cable and our digital antennae isn’t working so I’m not really watching the Olympics. I’m waiting. Patiently. For them to end. So I can buy the whole thing on DVD and watch it like an addict in the middle of the night. But I’m catching snippets on the weekends when I go to my civilized friends’ houses. I did not like the new American swimmer either. i can’t wait to see this relay now though! I am going to die if I don’t get to watch the gymnastics soon. That is all.

    Purple hair? You are brave. Is that the actual picture?

    • So glad you finally made it over! On the hair – not an actual picture, but pretty close to the color. On the Olympics – YOU CAN BUY IT ON DVD??? I had no idea… I’m still not a Lochte fan, but since Phelps whipped his ass on everything else, we’ll let him slide.

  2. Awwww, you made me laugh and cry all at the same time! Really, I’m not so much a bad*** as I’m trying to check things off the bucket list before I get to darned old to do them! Love you!!!

  3. Julie Says:

    I liked when you wrote this: here’s where the story takes a turn for the awesome.

    Your mom is awesome! You have every reason to be proud of her. She sounds like she’s rubbed off on you in some ways. Good for her for taking on any challenges regardless of age. Maybe I’ll use her as inspiration this week to do something NEW!

    Thanks for sharing your life with your blog readers!

    Julie

    • Thank you for reading my blog! She IS pretty amazing! Today, she’s been to the orthopedic doctor, gotten herself a snazzy new air-cast and a knee-walker and she’s rolling around the house! She’s something else. Check out her blog if you get a chance, it’s nice, and it has delicious recipes!


Leave a Reply

