Mamagirl… says it all…

Just a Mama's musings…

School Daze August 20, 2012

Filed under: Uncategorized — mamagirlsaysitall @ 9:39 pm

MamaGirl says…

I haven’t forgotten about you, dear readers, I promise! It’s been a busy week around here. Yes, I know it’s Monday, I mean last week was busy – that’s why no new blog post.

Both of the kids started back to school last Wednesday. They both had a great first day and reported

I’m such a nerd. I LOVE school.

that they liked their teachers. A-Man re-thought his stance when he found out how uber-organized his Science teacher is (and expects her students to be).

For most of last week, I slept between the hours of 1am and 6am – only. I tell you, coffee is a hell of a drug. Then today, I started back to school. Part of the reason that I haven’t been able to write a post is because I’ve been keeping myself busy to avoid the anxiety that I was having over going back to school. I’m really not sure why. When I pulled back on to campus today, everything felt as natural as if I’d never left. And I was only gone for the summer – I’m such a dork.

I started the day with Latin I – at 9am. What was I thinking? I had to. Once you become a Junior or higher, your schedule is completely at the mercy of the college. So, 9am Latin class it is. I’m pretty sure that when the instructor was a freshman in high school, I had already failed out of college once. He looks about 28 or 29. He tells us that, in general, absences are NOT allowed. I tell him that I’m 35 years old, with 2 children, and I can almost guarantee that I’ll be absent at least once.

And then 2.5 hours of downtime. I ran some errands on campus, picked up my financial aid check, went to the bank, and still had time to come home and chat with Hubbo for about an hour.

I got a lovely surprise at the bank when I went in to make my deposit.  “Ma’am, did you know that your account is $16 in the negative?” Damn it! How did that happen? Ah well, good thing I was making a deposit, huh? I try hard to keep the account balanced, but you know, every once in a while… it just gets away from me. Anyway… that was a fun little episode of TMI about my finances.

Then it was back to campus for Survey & Social Research Methods and Feminist Theory. I’m already a little in love with one of my professors and the other I think I’m going to like a lot. These two, and tomorrow’s Sociology of Gender class, I’m really excited about. These are my major classes. They’re where I really get comfortable and open and willing to talk to a classroom full of what I can fairly consider “young people” about what life is really like, and why.

Tonight, I’ve already been reading up on Feminist Theory and I can’t WAIT to really get into the meat and potatoes of this class! I feel certain that you all will be subjected to my feminist rants sometime in the near future (I’ve been sparing you up until now). I try not to bring politics to my blog. I feel like this should be a safe space where there is no fighting and bickering over political arguments. After all, that’s what Facebook is for. But you may very well be much more educated on Social Issues and Feminism by the time my semester is over. Lucky you, huh?

I can’t imagine that any of you are as a big of a nerd as I am, so I’ll try to keep it to a minimum, but there are some things that I feel everyone should know, and those I’ll be forced to share. For tonight, I’ll just leave you with a quote that I found today:

“Masses of people think that feminism is always and only about women seeking to be equal with men. And a huge majority of these folks think feminism is anti-male. Their misunderstanding of feminist politics reflects the reality that most folks learn about feminism through patriarchal mass media.”  – bell hooks 

 

6 Responses to “School Daze”

  1. Julie Says:

    Hey there!

    Congratulations on getting back to school. I completely related to what you were talking about having angst getting back to school, getting there and seeing that everything is exactly how it should be. I wonder why people tend to worry and then see how everything just works out fine?

    I have spent the last 15 years or so of my life in a class room with upper school kids and some adult learners and it is one of my favorite places to be, to learn and to grow. On the otherhand, I didn’t like disciplining unruly kids. I do like learning though, teaching too.

    I recently read a great obituary on Helen Gurley Brown on the NY times that brought a lot of people’s comments on what feminism was. I was suprised to see how people’s attiutdes were so different yet at the same I truly appreciated the sharing that that article inspired, as I find most of the best reading in the comments’ section of blogs. Femism is a good subject. I’m happy you are tackling it.

    Have fun in school, lucky you.

    Julie

    • Thanks Julie! The goal here is to eventually teach Sociology & Women’s Studies at the college level. But, right now, that’s very long term. At the moment, I’m focusing on how in the hell am I going to get myself through this Latin class?!
      Don’t be surprised if this blog takes a decidedly feminist spin, as I’m sure I’ll have a lot to say on the subject! As always, thanks for reading & commenting.

  2. diannegray Says:

    Loved this line…”no fighting and bickering over political arguments. After all, that’s what Facebook is for” Lol
    Great post (you’re very busy, but I don’t need to tell you that!)
    Thanks for sharing 😀


Leave a Reply

