Mamagirl… says it all…

Just a Mama's musings…

I’m a worrier August 25, 2012

Filed under: Humor,Musings — mamagirlsaysitall @ 10:38 am
Tags: , ,

Mamagirl says…

Remember this guy? Maybe he was a major influence…

I’m a worry wart. I worry about everything. No seriously, everything. I worry about whether or not my kids are having a good day at school (especially if our morning didn’t go so well). I worry about money (who doesn’t?). I worry about the economy, and for the past several months I’ve been exceedingly worried about the decline of women’s reproductive rights. I worry about my gay friends and whether or not they will have the same rights that I have. I worry about the decisions that we are collectively making to put people into office who clearly do not represent us. I worry about my grades. I worry about the impression that I make on my teachers. I worry about my friends and the things going on in their lives. I worry about their children. I worry about my Mama’s broken ankle and whether or not it’s going to heal well.  I worry about what other people think. And then, I worry about the fact that I even allowed someone else’s impression into my mind. Are we clear? I worry. A lot.

 

 

 

Sometimes, my worrying makes me angry. Example: I see a dangerous situation on the road and I

Exactly!

start to get worried about the people who might get in a wreck. Then, I get mad that I have to be worried about these people that I don’t know because some other jackass, that I don’t know, is being dangerous. That’s not my damn responsibility! I do realize that my worrying has no effect whatsoever on anyone other than me. Whether I worry about it or not, those people on the road either are going to get in a wreck or they’re not. My worrying is not going to stop the wreck from happening. Neither are the cuss words that I am undoubtedly slinging through the windshield.

So, it seems that the practical answer to this conundrum would be to stop worrying about strangers in cars on the interstate, right? I can’t. I’ve tried. Really, I have. I just can’t. Somehow it makes me feel less human. Like I don’t have a heart. Like maybe if I just worry hard enough, or cuss them out enough, they’ll figure out that they’re all a bunch of jackasses anyway and settle down and act right. Do I really believe that my worrying will ever have that type of tangible positive effect? Of course not. I’m not delusional. But I just can’t be one of those people. I know that they are out there. People who truly don’t care about anyone other than themselves. I’ve met them. You’ve met them. They do exist.

Easier said than done, but who can argue with Abe Lincoln?

 

 

I can’t be that. I do care about people, and therefore I worry about them, whether I know them or not. True, it isn’t the healthiest of habits to have. But if a stressful tummy keeps me feeling more human, then I guess it’s a fair trade. Don’t you think?

 

6 Responses to “I’m a worrier”

  1. diannegray Says:

    My mother worries a lot and I’ve tried really hard not to let it rub off on me. My mother-in-law on the other hand never worries. She always says ‘We’ll cross that bridge when we come to it.’ Or ‘That’s just a waste of a good worry’! 🙂

  2. Julie Says:

    My grandmother used to worry a lot and I think I picked up on some of that. My worries tend to come in the middle of the night and keep me up. I certainly agree with you that I couldn’t watch an accident and not worry about the safety of the people involved. I think what is important is to keep a healthy limit on how far you allow your thoughts or worries to go. I’ve also found that meditation, yoga and listening to positive affirmations, at least for me, keeps me a bit calmer.
    You’ll get great grades. Don’t worry, and I’m certain your teachers will adore you.
    Julie

    • I’ve been saying for some time now that I need to get back into a yoga class, but that’s been mostly due to southerly migration of my butt. LOL!
      That middle-of-the-night worrying is the worst! Isn’t it? It tends to hit me then too. I’ve gotten pretty good at distraction techniques that help me get to sleep (i.e. thinking about other things). I try not to let it make me crazy, but sleepless nights are no good for anyone. Thanks for the kind words. You are always so positive and encouraging! And as always, thanks for reading and commenting!

      • Julie Says:

        lol re: the southern bound bum. 😉 and thx for the comps.

        I keep earphones near my bed that distract me too. It really helps! As far as distraction techniques, I like to visit places from my youth in my mind. It’s unbelievable what it can do for my memory, but it keeps me up. ha ha. Speaking about distraction techniques, do you find blogging and writing distract from studying? I find I get most of my blogging done when faced with a full house to clean! ha! Anyhow, good luck in school. I am a bit envious as I love school.

        Julie

        • Yes, I absolutely find that I often get quite a bit of blogging done when the laundry is piled particularly high! LOL! I work pretty hard to stay on track with school, it’s hard to compete with people half your age and whose brains are still fresh and who don’t have kids and live on campus…. Sorry – tangent. Anyway, I’m fairly certain that there will be some excellent blogging opportunities found in the University Library (seriously, fashion choices on this campus are incredible). And I’m looking forward to those. =) But I also have to learn Latin, and I’m quickly realizing that there is a WHOLE lot of English that I’m going to have learn first! LOL! It should be interesting, I just hope it doesn’t end up blowing my GPA. We’ll see what happens.

          • Julie Says:

            As a word of encouragement, at our University commencement speech, the Valedictorian, or Vale Dicere, meaning farewell sayer in Latin. ha ha, (I’m trying to help you out here 🙂 ) WAS an elderly lady with kids who decided to go back to school. Apparently, she shared statistics on how people who go back to school often do better than those continuing from high school in that their motivation to be back at University is driven by the will to learn not because they are simply continuing to study and view it as a chore. Hope that was clear. Good luck. I’m looking forward to the fashion update!

            Julie


Leave a Reply

