Mamagirl… says it all…

Just a Mama's musings…

I’m a Political Chicken… sometimes… August 8, 2013

Filed under: Musings,Rants,Uncategorized — mamagirlsaysitall @ 5:36 pm

MamaGirl says…

For those of you who only know me through the blog, I probably seem like an average, boring, stay-at-home-housewife. For those of you that know me through Facebook or, dare I say it, “real” life, you know that couldn’t be further from the truth.

I save my political rants for Facebook, and dole out the boring Mommy blog stuff on here. But the thing is, I’m very political. In fact, I’m a Liberal, feminist activist. I’m outspoken on many topics from women’s health rights to racism to welfare. I’m not afraid to jump into a conversation and piss a few people off… until it comes to the blog, then I’m a big ole chicken.

I think it has something to do with the fact that I not only know my Facebook friends, but I also have a “real friends” list, which filters who actually sees my posts. It’s a beautiful thing, really. And it permits me to be selective in who I share my thoughts with, without having to deny all of the friend requests from people I went to high school with. Because, as we all know, those faces that I haven’t laid eyes on in twenty years just can’t wait to see what all I’ve been up to! Nor can I deny them that voyeurism, as I, too, am nosy as all hell.

And I can get pretty voracious with my rants. I’ve had people un-friend me and block me. Of course, it won’t tell me who they are, so I only discover it months later when I suddenly think, “I haven’t seen anything posted by this person in a while.” And of course, by then, it’s just too late to care. Not that I necessarily would anyway, but you get the drift.

However, in case y’all haven’t noticed, some of the people on Facebook are… how should I put this… well, stupid. Even some of those on my “real friends” list are lacking in the smarts department. (I ain’t judging, I’m just telling the truth!)

But the thing is, on the blog, you open yourself up to a whole bunch of strangers. Strangers that don’t you, don’t know your sense of humor or how you live your life. And let’s face it folks, there’s a whole bunch of assholes out there. I know that eventually someone is going to bash me for my politics, they’re going to say mean, untrue things to me because the anonymity of the internet allows them that privilege. But you know, I have been known to tell a person to fuck off once or thirty times. So, I’m thinking that maybe we’ll just roll the dice and see what happens.  And I’ll write about something that matters, to me, at least. Don’t get me wrong, my kids are lovely and quite the entertaining pair, but really, if that’s what you’re looking for, there’s better Mommy blogs out there.

So, buckle up, buttercups! We’re about to get down and dirty around here. It’s okay if you don’t like it, you don’t have to, there’s an “unfollow” button around here somewhere. If you need to click it, I’ll understand.

Now, bring on the racism, classism, and sexism. Mama’s packing a lunch, ’cause kids, it’s a war out there.

 

One Response to “I’m a Political Chicken… sometimes…”

  1. hrhdana Says:

    I’m so excited. 🙂


Leave a Reply

